Skip to main content

Buc Days Port of Corpus Christi Leadership Scholars Selected; $80,000 in Scholarships to be Awarded in May

By January 27, 2023No Comments

The Buccaneer Commission is proud to announce the 2023 Buc Days Port of Corpus Christi Leadership Program Scholars. These students will begin the semester long Buc Days Leadership Program and Scholarship Competition with a Welcome Dinner on Friday, January 27, 2023 at the Omni Hotel.

Congratulations to the following scholars:

Isabella Chimbunde – Incarnate Word Academy
Diamond Gomez – Moody High School
Lilian McKenna – WB Ray High School
Brooke Moreno – Gregory-Portland High School
Suhawni Narang – WB Ray High School
Sydney Quimby – Carroll High School
Ann Rogers – Homeschool
Isabella Serrao – WB Ray High School
Joanna Wang – WB Ray High School
Diego Aguillon – Gregory-Portland High School
Adacely Aguirre – Taft High School
Cole Bailey – WB Ray High School
Windsor Bissell – WB Ray High School
Logan Dewald – Sinton High School
James Eaves – Harold T Branch Academy
Jace Hofstetter – Calallen High School
Blake Koether – Sinton High School
David Matl – Incarnate Word Academy
Marco Ruiz – Alice High School
D’Schon Simmons – West Oso High School

These students were selected from a group of 147 applicants from the 11 counties in the Coastal Bend. They are all high school seniors and were chosen based on academic standing, extracurricular and community activities, and an interview and essay competition.

The semester long program that these students will embark on consists of Dale Carnegie Training, Community Service and Awareness trips and a Mentoring Experience.  Each scholar will be matched to a Buccaneer Commission volunteer based upon the student’s career interest.  The scholar will meet with their Mentor a minimum of two 1-hour sessions to engage and learn about their interest. They will report back to the group in the form of a final project.

A total of $80,000 in scholarships will be award to the 20 scholars at the conclusion of the program. Each student will receive a minimum of $3,500.  Awards will be announced at Rodeo Corpus Christi on Saturday, May 13, 2023.